Automobile Celebration to Mark Indy's 100th Anniversary

All about Indy Racing League (IRL)

Moderators: Ed, mlittle

Post Reply
Forum Hall of Fame
Forum Hall of Fame
Posts: 11205
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:51 pm
Location: At the F1 Idiots Bar.............where else?

Automobile Celebration to Mark Indy's 100th Anniversary

Post by mlittle » Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:42 am


----About 250 classic cars from 1911-61 are expected to be part of the 100th Anniversary Indy 500 Celebration of Automobiles May 13-14 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The event -- which corresponds with Opening Day of practice for the Indianapolis 500 -- will be a competition between automobile owners to be judged on the appearance of their cars. The event will celebrate the significance of vehicular transportation and competition to Indianapolis and be a centerpiece of the numerous festivities planned to celebrate the 100th Anniversary of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race on May 29.

Participating cars will be on display at IMS and be driven around the 2.5-mile oval during the show before being judged. "This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for classic car owners and enthusiasts," said Jeff Belskus, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corporation president and CEO. "But the 100th Anniversary Indy 500 Celebration of Automobiles is much more than just a car show. It will be a memorable tribute to the greatest race in the world and a fitting start to a month of festivities surrounding 'The Most Important Race in History.' "

The 100th Anniversary Indy 500 Celebration of Automobiles will feature two divisions:

• Cars representing the 24 manufacturers that competed in the first Indianapolis 500 in 1911: Alco, Amplex, Apperson, Benz, Buick, Case, Cole, Cutting, Fiat, Inter-State, Jackson, Knox, Lozier, Marmon, McFarlan, Mercedes, Mercer, National, Pope-Hartford, Simplex, Stutz, Velie, Westcott.

• Other great classic cars produced between 1911-61.

Awards will be presented in three classifications in both divisions of automobiles. The classifications are named after the three track ownership eras of IMS: the Carl Fisher Era (cars built from 1911-27), Eddie Rickenbacker Era (1928-45) and Early Tony Hulman Era (1946-61).
The Sci-Fi Station Come by and visit when you get the chance. :)
The Wayward Tarheel I'm even in the blogosphere.... :shock:

Post Reply